Tags

© Micka
Dreamstime.com

Osama bin Laden is dead. Rejoice. I’m supposed to be ecstatic and delighted because this man was shot in the head. The lives lost in the 9/11 attacks have been avenged.

But why is my stomach churning? Why am I not thrilled, dancing in the streets, waving Old Glory? Am I really to be proud of the fact that my government has successfully assassinated a world leader? Have any world problems been solved by his death?

First we assassinated the wrong world leader. Okay, Saddam Hussein was an evil man, he beheaded, behanded, or burned people who got on his nerves. So whether he had anything to do with 9/11 or not, it was supposedly a good thing to see him cut down. But, is the world truly a better place without bin Laden? Isn’t bin Laden a symptom of a deeper problem? Won’t there be more bin Ladens? You can pull the dandelion out of your yard, but its seeds have already generated clones to haunt you next week.

How do we distinguish ourselves from the bad guys if we resort to murder without trial?

How is this behavior different than that of the old west gunslingers who shot first and asked questions later? I do not feel good this morning. I am worried that we have become the enemy. We have become our own enemy.