Tags

, , , ,

One month ago I was charging down the snowy slopes of Austria in a mad attempt to keep up with my Germans. For two weeks, I entirely neglected my blogging community.

Linda, catching her breath on Laermstange; Hintertux Glacier, Zillertal, Austria

Oh what a difference one month makes__and doesn’t make. Today I am sitting by my window watching spring unfold, the grass is green, the line of white on the distant hills is receding, my tulips are smiling in the sunshine, as is my cat who insists upon crawling into my lap and draping herself unmercifully over my arms in an attempt to push the laptop from its precarious perch on my knees. (How is that for an ungainly sentence?)

And yet what hasn’t changed, is that I am still neglecting my blogging community__perhaps if you could drape yourselves over my arms, I’d have to pay attention to you, too.

What is consuming me this time? I feel like a midwife. Two wonderful author/friends have asked me to help them, to various degrees, bring their manuscripts to life through self-publishing. Me, of all people!

What I lack in knowledge and experience, I am making up for with time, tenacity, and the marvelous resources that are available through the Internet and Twitter. Next to my 15th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, sits my Droid, with quick access to my Kindle version of David Gaughran’s Let’s Get Digital. Every step of the way I am learning and sometimes relearning what I thought I knew.

I hope you will all bear with me while I coax and guide these precious manuscripts into the world of readers, where they belong. I will join the world after they have both breathed on their own.

I tribute all typos, misspellings, and poor writing in this post to Poppy and to my extreme haste to slide back into the cavern from which I briefly emerged.