Tags

, , ,

Since participating in Otto Münchow’s online workshop, Finding Your Photographic Voice, I’ve unearthed more than a voice. I found my vision, as well. Or at least I’ve scraped a pin prick of scum off my eyeballs. I used to resort to black and white post-production to bolster inferior color shots. For the first time in my life, I find myself pre-visualizing in black and white or a sepia-tint.

New Mexico is a fabulous place to meander with a camera smashed to your face. There is plenty of gorgeous color, but for some reason black and white imagery crept into my imagination. Perhaps I was channeling Mr. Adams. Thank you, Ansel, for the magnificent inspiration. Now, if I could refine my technique and execute the crisp images my mind sees . . .

DSC_0749bw2

Much of the adobe in New Mexico resembles my face after a severe sunburn, peeling and revealing.

DSC_0741inr

The lovely Sangre de Christo Mountains. (Blood of Christ)

DSC_0890gf

Rio Grande Gorge Bridge northwest of Taos; Sangre De Christo’s in the distance.

DSC_0756bw

Keeper of secrets; Questa, New Mexico

DSC_1154bw

Santa Fe

DSC_1146infr

Santa Fe

DSC_0874gf

San Francisco de Asis Church; Immortalized many times over by Georgia O’Keefe, Ansel Adams, and Willa Cather. Taos

DSC_0908gf  DSC_0851bwDSC_0877rf