Tags

, , , , ,

It’s happened twice within a month. Small acts of kindness have seized me in midstride.

The first time I was walking past Zoo Boise after-hours on my way into town. I live about two miles from downtown and frequently walk through the campus and the park to get to The Flicks, my favorite movie house, or to dinner with friends. This was during our first early cold snap in November. I happened to notice fabric fluttering from the bare branches of a tree. I looked inquisitively and noticed a little tag attached to the fabric. Upon closer examination it was a hand knit scarf! DSC_0698 (2)DSC_0697 (2)

I AM NOT LOST!!!
If you’re stuck
out in the cold
take this scarf
to keep warm!

Another tree a few yards away wore a similar scarf with attached tag. I smiled and left the scarves where they were. I was not stuck and I was not cold. I hope one of the homeless who inhabit the streets of Boise found these scarves.

The second incident happened yesterday as I walked along the river on my way home from downtown; a bright bit of orange dangling from a tree grabbed my eye. The school colors reminded me of the pending home game.BSU Upon closer examination, however, this item had nothing to do with football. Attached to the 18-inch strip of leather were four ceramic charms ending with a copper bell. A laminated tag attached to the leather thong reads in Spanish on one side and English on the other side:

You Have found a Ben’s Bell
Take it home, hang it in your yard, and remember to spread kindness throughout our world………. “Remember there’s no such thing as a small act of kindness. Every act creates a ripple with no logical end.” – Scott Adams
IMG_3046

I debated whether to leave the bell for the next person or to bring it home just for its karmic effect. Curiosity got this cat. I brought it home to research Ben’s Bells Project. Here is what I discovered:The mission of Ben’sBells.org is to inspire, educate, and motivate people to realize the impact of intentional kindness, and to empower individuals to act according to that awareness, thereby strengthening ourselves, our relationships and our communities.” 

My intention is to take my bell with me on my next stroll into town. I will hang it somewhere for someone else to find and to marvel over. Let the intentional kindnessDSC_0701 spread! How many people can the message reach?